Home > By-census Results > Snapshot of Hong Kong Population > Domestic Households in Hong Kong


Domestic Households in Hong Kong

Domestic households in Hong Kong grew faster than the population

1. The number of domestic households in Hong Kong increased by 12.7% from 2.23 million in 2006 to 2.51 million in 2016. Along with the change in the composition of domestic households, the average household size declined from 3.0 in 2006 to 2.8 in 2016, leading to faster growth of the number of domestic households than the population (6.9%).
(Chart 1)

Snapshot Chart 1
Please click to enlarge / reduce the image.

Small households had become increasingly common

2. Between 2006 and 2016, the proportion of households with one to three persons increased from 63.8% to 69.2%, reflecting (i) the tendency of people living alone; (ii) more young people living apart from their parents after marriage; and (iii) couples choosing to have one or even no child.
(Chart 2)

Snapshot Chart 2
Please click to enlarge / reduce the image.

3. The increase in households with one person and two persons was notable. The proportion of one-person households rose from 16.5% in 2006 to 18.3% in 2016, attributable to population ageing and more people staying single. Moreover, owing to a relatively low birth rate, the proportion of two-person households which comprised a couple only increased from 14.1% in 2006 to 15.5% in 2016.
(Chart 3)

Snapshot Chart 3
Please click to enlarge / reduce the image.

Proportion of households without children increased significantly

4. Hong Kong’s level of fertility remained at a very low level. The proportion of domestic households without children aged under 15 increased significantly from 70.4% in 2006 to 76.9% in 2016. For domestic households with children aged under 15, the average number of children therein remained at 1.4 over the period.
(Table 1)

Snapshot Table 1
Please click to enlarge / reduce the image.

On average one in three households had at least one elderly member

5. The number of elderly persons aged 65 and over increased by about 0.31 million in the past 10 years. In line with this, there was a significant increase (in both number and share) in domestic households with elderly members. The number of such households grew by 36.5% from 594 730 in 2006 to 811 645 in 2016; its share among all domestic households rose from 26.7% to 32.3% during the same period.
(Table 2)

Snapshot Table 2
Please click to enlarge / reduce the image.

Single elderly households increased significantly by over 50% during the past 10 years

6. Number of domestic households comprising solely elderly persons reached 261 421 in 2016. In particular, the majority (58.3%) of the elderly-only households were elderly persons living alone; while it is observed at the same time that the number of single elderly households grew significantly by 54.3% from 98 829 in 2006 to 152 536 in 2016. There was also an increase in the proportion of two-person elderly-only households, from 40.2% to 41.0% over the period.
(Table 3)

Snapshot Table 3
Please click to enlarge / reduce the image.

Other references

1. 2016 Population By-census - Main Results

2. 2016 Population By-census - Summary Results

back to top

主頁 > 中期人口統計結果 > 香港人口概況 > 香港的家庭住戶

bcmenu-arrow

香港的家庭住戶

香港家庭住戶數目增長比人口增長快

1. 香港家庭住戶數目由2006年的223萬,增至2016年的251萬,增幅為12.7%。隨着住戶結構的改變,家庭住戶的每戶平均人數由2006年的3.0人下降至2016年的2.8人,以致家庭住戶數目的增長比人口增長(6.9%)快。
(圖 1)

Snapshot Chart 1
請點擊以放大/縮小圖片。

小型家庭愈來愈普遍

2. 在2006 至2016 年間,一至三人住戶的比率由63.8% 上升至69.2% 反映出(1)人口傾向於獨居;(2)較多青年人於婚後不與父母同住;及(3)夫婦選擇只要一個甚至不要孩子。
(圖 2)

Snapshot Chart 2
請點擊以放大/縮小圖片。

3. 一人住戶及二人住戶增幅明顯。隨着人口老化和獨身趨勢更為普遍,單人住戶的比例由2006年的16.5% 上升至2016年的18.3%。另外,由於生育率偏低,只由夫婦組成的二人住戶比例,亦由2006年的14.1% 上升至2016年的15.5%。
(圖 3)

Snapshot Chart 3
請點擊以放大/縮小圖片。

沒有兒童的住戶比例顯著上升

4. 香港的生育水平持續處於非常低的水平。沒有15歲以下兒童的家庭住戶比例,由2006年的70.4% 顯著增加至2016年的76.9%;而有15歲以下兒童的家庭住戶,其平均每戶兒童數目在同期維持在1.4。
(表 1)

Snapshot Table 1
請點擊以放大/縮小圖片。

平均約三分之一的住戶中有至少一名長者

5. 在過去10年,65歲及以上的長者數目增加了約31萬人。與此同時,有長者的家庭住戶,在數目及比例上,均顯著增加。這些住戶的數目由2006年的594 730戶大增至2016年的811 645戶,增幅達36.5%;有長者的家庭住戶佔全港家庭住戶的比例,同期間由26.7% 增至32.3%。
(表 2)

Snapshot Table 2
請點擊以放大/縮小圖片。

獨居長者數目在過去十年大幅上升逾5成

6. 在2016年,只有長者的家庭住戶數目達261 421戶。而這些只有長者的住戶中,有大部分(58.3%)是獨居的長者。尤其值得留意的是,獨居長者住戶由2006年的98 829戶上升至2016年的152 536戶,大幅上升54.3%。而由兩名長者組成的只有長者的住戶比例,在期間亦由40.2% 上升至41.0%。
(表 3)

Snapshot Table 3
請點擊以放大/縮小圖片。

其他參考資料

1. 《2016年中期人口統計-主要結果》

2. 《2016年中期人口統計-簡要報告》

back to top