Skip to Main Content

Home > By-census Results > District Profiles

Terms and Definitions Help

Please select a New Town. The statistical tables for the selected New Town will be displayed below. Click the icon to download the statistical tables in Microsoft Excel 2007 format (.xlsx) and statistical dataset (XML).

The statistical dataset comprises 1 XSD file and 1 XML file. The XSD file provides the specifications and descriptions of the statistical data structure, while the XML provides the values of statistical data. For more details, please refer to the Usage Guide of Statistical Dataset.
Main Content

District Profiles

District Council
Districts and
Constituency Areas
Planning Units
New Towns
Major Housing

Enquiry Hotline: 3903 6944

The delineation of the areas into new towns is adopted from the boundaries developed by the Civil Engineering and Development Department, and the Planning Department for new town development purposes. There are 12 new towns in Hong Kong, namely Kwai Chung, Tsing Yi, Tsuen Wan, Tuen Mun, Yuen Long, Tin Shui Wai, Fanling/Sheung Shui, Tai Po, Sha Tin, Ma On Shan, Tseung Kwan O and North Lantau.

The statistical tables for the selected new town will be displayed below.

To obtain the statistical tables covering all new towns, please click the "More" button to access the Interactive Data Dissemination Service (IDDS). Through the IDDS, users can also modify the statistical tables (say adding more statistics or classifications to the tables, or obtaining the statistics of other years) and produce charts according to their own needs.

In using the tables, users should note that since statistics based on sample enquiry are subject to sampling error, a nil figure may mean a figure of a small magnitude but not zero. Similarly, figures of small magnitude are also subject to relatively large sampling error and should be interpreted with care.

Last revision date: 8 December 2017


back to top