Home > By-census Results > Snapshot of Hong Kong Population > Economic Characteristics of Hong Kong Population

bcmenu-arrow

Economic Characteristics of Hong Kong Population

Labour force of Hong Kong increased to 3.95 million in 2016

1. The labour force of Hong Kong increased by 10.7% (or 0.38 million) from 3.57 million in 2006 to 3.95 million in 2016. The average annual growth rate of labour force over the past 10 years was 1.0%, close to that of 0.9% for all persons aged 15 and over.
(Chart 1)

Snapshot Chart 1
Please click to enlarge / reduce the image.

Persons aged 65 and above in the labour force more than doubled

2. Over the past 10 years, persons aged 65 and above in the labour force (excluding foreign domestic helpers) more than doubled, from 59 544 in 2006 to 129 916 in 2016. Due to deferral in entering the labour force amongst the youths as a result of increased post-secondary educational opportunities, persons aged 15-24 in the labour force decreased from 404 916 in 2006 to 334 858 in 2016.
(Table 1)

Snapshot Table 1
Please click to enlarge / reduce the image.

Females’ participation in labour market increased for most age groups

3. Compared with 2006, the female labour force participation rates (refers to the proportion of labour force in the total population aged 15 and over) increased significantly for most of the age groups in 2016. On the other hand, over the same period, the male labour force participation rates increased significantly for those aged 55 and over and remained roughly the same for those of the other age groups.
(Chart 2)

Snapshot Chart 2
Please click to enlarge / reduce the image.

More males than females were engaged in high skill occupations in 2016

4. In the working population, the distribution of males and females among occupations varied. For elementary occupations and clerical support workers, there were proportionally more females than their male counterparts, with the former mainly as foreign domestic helpers. The reverse situation was found in high skill occupations of managers and administrators, professionals and associate professionals. Besides, for craft and related workers as well as plant and machine operators and assemblers, there were significantly more male employed persons than their female counterparts.
(Chart 3)

Snapshot Chart 3
Please click to enlarge / reduce the image.

Almost half of the working population usually worked 40-49 hours weekly in 2016

5. In 2016, almost half of the working population (excluding foreign domestic helpers) usually worked for 40-49 hours weekly. The median weekly usual hours of work was 44 hours. The proportion of females who usually worked for 60 hours or more a week was 7.7%, while that of their male counterparts was 13.9%.
(Table 2)

Snapshot Table 2
Please click to enlarge / reduce the image.

Other references

1. 2016 Population By-census - Main Results

2. 2016 Population By-census - Summary Results

back to top

主頁 > 中期人口統計結果 > 香港人口概況 > 香港人口的經濟特徵

bcmenu-arrow

香港人口的經濟特徵

香港勞動人口在2016年增至395萬人

1. 香港勞動人口的數目,由2006年的357萬人增至2016年的395萬人,增幅達10.7%(或38萬人)。勞動人口的前10年內平均每年增長率則為1.0%,與15歲及以上人口的0.9%相若。
(圖 1)

Snapshot Chart 1
請點擊以放大/縮小圖片。

65歲或以上勞動人口增加超過一倍

2. 過去10年,在勞動人口(撇除外籍家庭傭工)當中,65歲或以上人士由2006年的59 544人上升至2016年的129 916人,升幅超過一倍。另一方面,由於年輕人有更多接受專上教育的機會而較遲加入勞動人口行列,15至24歲勞動人口由2006年的404 916人下跌至2016年的334 858人。
(表 1)

Snapshot Table 1
請點擊以放大/縮小圖片。

女性參與勞動市場在大部分年齡組別均見上升

3. 與2006年比較,在2016年,女性勞動人口參與率(指勞動人口佔15歲及以上人口的比例)在大部分年齡組別均有顯著上升。另一方面,同期間屬55歲及以上年齡組別的男性的勞動人口參與率顯著上升,而屬其他年齡組別則大致相同。
(圖 2)

Snapshot Chart 2
請點擊以放大/縮小圖片。

在2016年男性較女性多從事高技術職位

4. 工作人口中,各職業的男性及女性分布有不同。非技術工人和文書支援人員中以女性的比例多於男性,前者主要是外籍家庭傭工;相反,經理及行政級人員、專業人員及輔助專業人員等高技術職位則以男性所佔的比例較高。另外,工藝及有關人員和機台及機器操作員及裝配員中,男性就業人口顯著較女性多。
(圖 3)

Snapshot Chart 3
請點擊以放大/縮小圖片。

在2016年近半工作人口每周通常工作40至49小時

5. 在2016年,近半工作人口(撇除外籍家庭傭工)每周通常工作40至49小時,而每周通常工作時數的中位數為44小時。而每周通常工作60小時或以上的女性工作人口比例為7.7%,男性則為13.9%。
(表 2)

Snapshot Table 2
請點擊以放大/縮小圖片。

其他參考資料

1. 《2016年中期人口統計-主要結果》

2. 《2016年中期人口統計-簡要報告》

back to top